top of page

FAQ

These next few pages are dedicated to any current and future rulings / effect resolution questions. Along with this, certain text and priority rulings can be found as well.

Heart Points & Defeat

Heart Points & Defeat

Q: What happens if my HP reaches 0?

A: You immediately lose the game. No card effect can activate once you hit zero—not even on-chain.

 

Q: Can I go above 7 HP?

A: Yes, the maximum is 10. If a card would give you more than 10 HP, it caps.

Deck Size & Construction

Deck Size & Construction

Q: How many copies of one card can I run?

A: You may only include up to 3 copies of a card with the same name in your Main Deck.

 

Q: What’s the maximum deck size?

A: Your Main Deck must contain 50–60 cards.

 

Q: How many Boss Cards can I include?

A: Your Boss Deck can hold up to 20 cards.

Draw Rules & Decking Out

Draw Rules & Decking Out

Q: What happens if I run out of cards in my deck?

A: If you begin your Draw Phase with no cards left, you immediately lose.

​

Q: What if an effect makes me draw when I have no cards?

A: You lose instantly the moment you are forced to draw with an empty deck.

Reveal Mechanics

Reveal Mechanics

Q: Do I pay for a card when it’s set face-down?

A: No. STA and SC are only paid when the card is flipped face-up during battle or if you reveal the card of your own volition. 

​

Q: What happens if I reveal a card but can’t pay its cost?

​​A: If you can’t pay one cost (STA or SC) The card is destroyed and you lose 5 HP. If you can’t pay both: You immediately lose the game.

​

Q: If a card is destroyed by a card effect while face-down, does it trigger its Reveal effect?

A: No. Only cards that are flipped face-up will trigger Reveal effects. Face-down shield position battle cards destroyed by card effect also don't make you pay their STA or SC. 

​

Q: Can I tribute a face-down shield position battle card for a “Titan” battle card?

A: No. Battle Cards have to be face-up to be tributed for a “Titan” card.

​

Q: Am I allowed to flip my face-down shield position battle card into face-up shield position?

A: No. Battle cards flipped face-up by the player when they are face-down must always be flipped into face-up Attack Position.

 

Q: What happens first when I flip up a “Reveal” battle card?

A: First, you immediately pay the STA cost and SC (if applicable). This happens first even when the card is attacked while face-down. Then if all other activation requirements are met by the card; the effect goes through. 

​

Q: What happens when a face-down shield- position card gets attacked?

A: If the card is attacked in battle, the card flips up into face-up shield position. The STA and SC are paid, the card effect goes through, and then if it's weaker than the attacking battle card, it is destroyed, even if a reveal effect would destroy the attacker, unless otherwise stated by card effect. 

Battle Questions

Battle Questions

Q: Can cards attack while in Shield Position?

A: No. Only Battle Cards in Attack Position may declare attacks unless a card says otherwise.

​

Q: If both Attack Position cards have equal AP, what happens?

A: Both cards are destroyed.

​

Q: What if AP = SP when attacking a Shield Position card?

A: Nothing happens. Neither card is destroyed.

​

Q: Can I place a card face-down in Attack Position?

A: No. Cards can only be set face-down in Shield Position.

​

Q: What happens if an opponent activates a card effect when I declare an attack, but the card effect doesn't negate the attack or stop me in any way? 

A: The battle goes into what's called a “Replay” an example will be provided to make this easier.

​

Player A attacks Player B directly with Battle Card 1. Player B activates a Normal

Ambush card that allows him to draw 1 card. Player B draws 1 card, and then, Player A’s attack goes into replay. Player A can now decide to continue attacking directly against Player B, or perhaps think twice about doing so if they choose to. 

​

Q: Can I attack Immediately with a battle card I played on the same turn?

A: Yes you can! Unless it is the very first turn of the game, or a battle card effect/ a keyword skill says you can’t, you will always be able to attack with a battle card the same turn you summoned it. 

Summoning, Payment & Maintenance

Summoning, Payment & Maintenance

Q: What happens if I can’t pay a card’s Payment or maintenance cost?

A: The card is destroyed, and you take 5 HP damage unless the card states otherwise. 

​

Q: Do Equip Runes remain if the equipped card is destroyed?

A: No. Equip Runes go to the Discard Pile unless a card says otherwise.

​

Q: What’s the difference between a Stamina Summon and a Special Summon?

A: Stamina Summon = Played from hand paying STA and SC (when applicable) 

A: Special Summon = Played from anywhere else (deck, discard, void, boss deck) while only sometimes needing STA and/or SC (when applicable) 

A: You can special summon from your hand as well but only by a card effect. 

A: Special Summons have a chance based on the specific cards effect, to allow the player to Summon cards without paying STA or SC, so make sure you read the card effects carefully! 

​

Q: What happens to an Equip card, rune or otherwise, if the battle card is flipped face down?

A: The Equip card, rune or otherwise, is sent to the discard pile, unless otherwise stated by card effect. 

Rune & Ambush Timing

Rune & Ambush Timing

Q: Can I activate Normal Runes during my opponent’s turn?

A: No. The only Rune type that is able to activate during your opponent’s turn is Quick Runes, and that is only if they are already set face-down in your power zone. 

​

Q: Can I activate an Ambush the turn I set it?

A: No, unless a card effect specifically allows it.

​

Q: Can Ambush cards be used during the Attack Phase?

A: Yes! All Ambush cards can be used during the Attack Phase provided they were set the turn prior.

​

Q: What cards can I activate during my opponent's turn? 

A: Any Ambush cards, Quick Runes, Battle Card effects, and, on occasions, Field Card effects. 

​

Q: Can I play Quick Runes from my hand during my opponent’s turn?

A: No. You may only play Quick Runes that are set in your powerzone, during your opponent's turn. 

Misc Clarifications

Misc Clarifications

Q: Can I set “Titan” keyword skilled Battle Cards or “Boss” Battle Cards in face-down shield position? 

A: No you may not

​

Q: What happens when a card effect activates that forces a “Titan” or “Boss” Battle Card to go into Face-Down shield position? 

A: If a card with a “Titan” keyword skill is flipped face-down by a card effect, it is sent back to wherever it came from, your hand, your discard, your void, etc. If a “Boss” Battle Card is flipped face-down by a card effect it goes back to the Boss Deck.

​

Q: What if a “Boss” Battle Card I control is targeted with an effect that sends it back to my hand? 

A: It would go back to the “Boss” Deck. 

​

Q: Can I summon more than one SC=1 card per turn?

A: Yes, but only if you can reset your SC counter back to 1 with a card effect, if you're unable to do that, you'll only be able to summon 1 per turn with an SC cost. 

​

Q: Can I set 10 face-down Battle Cards?

A: No. You may only set up to 3 Battle Cards face-down per turn.

​

Q: Can I flip a Battle Card face-up the same turn I set it?

A: Not unless a card effect allows it.

​

Q: What does “Battle Card” refer to?

A: It refers only to Army, Mage, and Boss cards.

​

Q: How many “Titan” keyword skill battle cards can I summon per turn? 

A: As many as you want! But you have to have the Tributes, SC, and STA to pay for them! 

​

Q: How many “Boss” battle cards can I summon per turn? 

A: As many as you'd like, up to three! Provided you have the SC, STA, and materials to Summon them. Keep in mind though, you can only have a max of 3 Boss Cards on your field. 

​

Q: Do equip runes inherently target cards, and do they work on cards with the “Blessed” keyword skill? 

A: Yes, Equip Runes always target, even if they don't say they do. No, you can't equip an Equip Rune to a card with the “Blessed” keyword skill. 

Word/Text/Keywords Rulings

Word/Text/Keywords Rulings

Q: What does Once Per Turn mean? 

A: Once per turn means you may activate an effect once during your turn and once during your opponent's turn. The card will specifically dictate in its card text if a card can only use its effect at certain times. For example, if a card says “Once per turn, and only during your turn” that means you may only use the effect once during your turn, but not at all during your opponent's turn. 

​

Q: What does Once per Game/War mean? 

A: Once per Game, means you can only use that effect Once throughout the entire current game, but you may use the effect again in Game 2 or Game 3. 

A: However, if a card says you can only use its effect Once per War; that means in a 2 out of 3 match scenario, you can only use the effect Once in total. If you use the effect in Game 1, you can't use it at all in game 2 or 3, even if you have another copy of the same card. 

A: You can still use “Once Per War” effects even if you are just playing one game. 

​

Q: What does “Can’t be targeted” mean? 

A: It refers to the card’s individual protection from individual effects. If a card has the word “Target” in its card effects text; that means that the effect will specifically apply to specific cards.

A: For Example: A card with the “Blessed” keyword skill can't be targeted with Rune Cards. If a rune card activated that said “Target 1 battle card and destroy it” it wouldn't work against a card with the “Blessed” keyword skill. However, if a Rune Card is activated that says something like “Destroy all battle cards on the field” even though you have a “Blessed” keyword skill on your card, it will still be destroyed because the word “Target” isn't in their card text. 

​

Q: What does discard mean? 

A: Discard always refers to your hand, if a card states you need to discard, it's from the hand. So you send that card to the area that the effect dictates. You can’t discard cards at your leisure.

What Are Counters?

What Are Counters?
  • Counters are small markers placed on cards to keep track of special effects.

  •  They help certain cards build up power, trigger effects, or pay costs during the game.

  • Counters are not cards — they’re reminders placed directly on a card to show something important is happening.

  • You can only place counters on a card if a card effect says you can.

  •  Each counter has a specific name (like Rune Counters, Heat Counters, etc.), and you can only place the type the effect mentions.

bottom of page